Book Review and Excerpt | The Evil That Was Done by Michele Pariza Wacek #secretsofredemption #thriller

Welcome to the Release Tour for THE EVIL THAT WAS DONE by Michele PW – brought to you by Forever Write PR.

Michele PW is back with THE EVIL THAT WAS DONE, the shocking conclusion where long-buried secrets will finally be revealed. Time is running out for Becca to prove she isn’t responsible for the recent disappearances in her childhood hometown, Redemption. Fans of Dean Koontz, Nora Roberts, and Holly Seddon will devour this addicting award-winning series.

Genre: psychological thriller, suspense, paranormal

Published: June 26, 2019

My Thoughts

You can read my reviews for Book 1 It Began with A Lie and Book 2 This Happened To Jessica here.

This is the 3rd book in the Redemption series and we get some resolution for all the crazy sh*t Becca has been put through.

I liked that Becca is trying to stand up for herself now that the truth about Jessica has come out. I liked that she was trying to return to her art. I didn’t like that she continued to second guess herself and her relationships, should she stay or should she go?

…And then the creepy stuff starts up again! Louise and Gwynn have it out for Becca, Mia is starting to look haunted (she’s staying in Mad Martha’s room) and Aunt Charlie is still visiting in Becca’s dreams. There’s a lot of tension as suspicious noises and anonymous emails abound.

This author definitely knows how to write creepy. It’s a little outside my usual genre but I was satisfied with the conclusion of this series and will definitely watch out for more books by this author!

Goodreads | Amazon 🆓 on Kindle Unlimited!

Book Description

It’s happening again—people are disappearing. And just like before, the finger is pointed at Becca. She knows how it looks … and that she’s being set up. Someone is following her. Sneaking into her house. Planting evidence to make her look guilty. The problem is, she has no idea why. The bigger problem is, no one believes her. And time is running out.

Excerpt

Copyright @ Michele PW 2019  

“So, if we’re done grilling JD, maybe we can move on to other topics of interest now,” Barry said. “Like Daniel.” I spilled my wine. “Oh, clean up on aisle ten,” Barry said, as JD handed me his coaster napkin to mop it up. “Maybe we need to get a refill.”

“I’m good, really,” I said. The last thing I needed was more wine. Or to talk about Daniel. “It’s not a big deal. Daniel can bring it over when he comes over.” Barry started signaling with his hand.

Wait a minute. Daniel was here? He was supposed to be working. That’s why he canceled our date. Did he lie to me?

A part of me wanted to march over to wherever he was and give him a piece of my mind. I had asked him straight out if he really wanted to do this, to try dating. I had already told him I would understand if he thought it was going to be too complicated for him to date me and be a cop in this town. He assured me he wanted to try. I believed him. And, here he was, standing me up again.

A small voice inside me immediately wanted to argue—fifteen years ago, Daniel didn’t actually stand me up. And, regardless, Daniel wasn’t standing me up right then, because he had called to cancel. Yet it somehow still felt like I was sixteen again, standing alone in the woods, wondering where Daniel was … and feeling like a total fool.

Of course, I couldn’t say any of that in front of all our friends. Maybe I should just leave. That would kill two birds with one stone. Not only would I avoid seeing Daniel, but I could also get away from JD and his strange, intense energy.

Before I could figure out how exactly to sneak away, there was Daniel, doling out drinks—including another glass of wine for me. He was wearing a blue tee shirt that brought out the blue in his eyes. His blonde hair was getting a little long, curling around the back of his shirt.

Speaking of his eyes, they darted between me and JD, but he didn’t say a word. Not only that, but his face was completely unreadable—a professional mask. His cop face. He pulled a chair over and turned it around before he sat down, so he was straddling it backwards.

He was careful not to look at me, but I could still feel the sparks dancing between us. I was having trouble breathing, something that happened often when I was near him.

“So, since you’re here, does that mean Ellen is safe and sound?” Mia asked. He took a pull from his beer. “No, but there’s not much we can do right now.”

“What happened?” Daphne asked. On the surface, her voice sounded neutral, like she was simply inquiring about an acquaintance, but I could hear the confusion and worry swirling beneath the calm.

He shrugged. “No one seems to know. She didn’t show up at work today, which is unlike her. They had tried calling her home and her cell, but there was no answer, so they called her mother. Her mother was the one who came in to file a missing persons report, but since there’s no sign of foul play, there’s not a lot we can do right now.”

I felt a shiver run down my spine, like I had just been blasted by air conditioning. “What about putting an alert out?” Mia asked. “We can, but she hasn’t even been missing for a day. It’s not a crime for an adult to disappear. We’re in wait-and-see mode.”

“And, Ellen has been known to just take off without telling anyone,” Daphne said darkly, pressing her lips together so hard they turned white.

“Not to mention it’s pretty common here for people to leave quickly, making it seem like they’ve disappeared,” Mia said, after a quick glance at Daphne. “Yeah, I had heard that,” JD said. “Something about how, if the town doesn’t like you, it makes sure you don’t stay?”

Celia rolled her eyes. “It’s all a bunch of nonsense.” “It is NOT a bunch of nonsense,” Mia said. “Weird things DO happen here. And, they have for years. Over a hundred years.”

“Weird things happen in every town,” Celia said. “It’s no different here.” “I don’t know, we sure seem to have more than our share of weirdness,” Daphne said.

About the Author

When Michele was 3 years old, she taught herself to read because she wanted to write stories so badly.   As you can imagine, writing has been a driving passion throughout her life. She became a professional copywriter (which is writing promotional materials for businesses), which led to her founding a copywriting and marketing company that serves clients all over the world.

Follow Michele: Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter | BookBub | Amazon | Instagram | Pinterest  

This blog tour is brought to you by Forever Write PR. For more information, visit their Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/ForeverWritePR/


Did you enjoy this post? Please click below to retweet!

Book 3 in the Redemption series by Michele PW is here! #bookreview Click To Tweet

Want more reviews? Click here!

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I receive compensation if you make a purchase using this link. Thank you for supporting this blog and the books I recommend! I may have received a book for free in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.


Follow OrangeCountyReaders on Goodreads, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. Support Us on Ko-Fi and Amazon. And please, feel free to leave a comment!

Jaymi at OrangeCountyReaders

Life’s too short to read boring books amirite?